The Trial Begins

As a student of the 21st century, a skill required to survive in this vast and dynamic world is technology literacy or as the kids say “tech-savvy”.  This realization that such a skill is a necessity is proof enough of the growing awareness we have on this chunk of rock. The futility of humanity that developed with the passage of time. Nevertheless, it is why we survived for this long.

Whatever realization we had or might have is, however, not of importance to an inexperienced and pessimistic youth so I must stay off course with the thought.

I will, however, share my thoughts on what I personally expect on my current predicament; being enrolled in a technology course.

Having been brought up in the province of Cagayan, I was never taught on the importance of computers and any related matter as it was deemed as a luxury instead of a need. We were always taught that practicality is of importance only coming third with God and family. However, in the ever changing state we have as a developing society, one must adapt. It is in the beginning of the 21st century where we see ourselves as dependent to the gadgets companies such as Apple and Samsung release. This dependence we have with the conveniences of today’s time has always been present to a developing civilization. The constant presence of innovation is what brought out the ingenuity in our people.

But my question is; do we really need this skill?

Of course the obvious answer is yes and as an individual I rather align myself with the masses as that is the point of this blog.

The requirement of technology literacy is of importance since it provides countless opportunities for an individual adaptation to change. Opportunities to gather information for a research study or to socialize with one’s friends in the international stage.  Never could we imagine the blissfulness of unknowing before the invention of the internet or could we have survived problems regarding international diplomacy with a click of button.

Everything I shared in this first rant of a series of rants is what I want to expound and know more about in the coming sessions. And it is better to end this incoherent trail of words before I add another vague and unrelated issue.

Leave a comment